Let’s start at the very beginning…

…A very good place to start!

I’ve had the idea for this blog brewing for the better part of a year. But i’m a procrastinator… and added to that I’m a big old ninny! The thought of posting things on the web is terrifying to me – what if I say something wrong… what if I offend someone… what if, what if, what if!

Our first baby is due any day now and I promised myself that when I get into the swing of things with her when she does arrive I would use my maternity leave to give this idea some wings. But I have friends who know me too well and love me too much, and today I got a message saying “this is not a pressure thing, just an I believe in you thing” and a link to this beautiful site, fully paid up for two years. And so world, I am now officially a blogger!

In actual fact I needn’t have been such a ninny about this blog, because the real idea is that it won’t be me writing. I wanted to create a space for people to tell their own stories of the transformation they’ve experienced in their own lives as they’ve moved towards more just, whole ways of living and being. Let me backtrack…

I work on issues of economic justice and so, much of my work revolves around questions like: How do we make economies fairer for people and the planet? What would an economic system look like if it was socially just and environmentally sustainable? The longer I worked on these issues, the more personal these questions became. What does it mean for me to live in a way that champions justice? What changes do I need to make to my life if I fundamentally believe that every person matters and that working towards a just and fair world is possible and important.

As I’ve wrestled with these questions my lifestyle has been radically challenged… the way I’m living today looks fundamentally different to when I first arrived on the UK’s shores as  (horror!) an economic migrant 5 years ago. I then started to realise that if we want to see the real seismic shifts that are needed to move towards a more just and sustainable world, we need these seemingly small, lifestyle changes to happen at scale. Every one of us needs to feel the conviction to change and make alterations.

And then, the strangest  thing was… as I was made more aware of this need I started hearing more and more stories of others who had been on a similar journey. And I wanted to share them with others.

Yes, these are just stories… but these stories have inspired me to think of new things I hadn’t considered before… encouraged me when making the change has been hard… kept me focused when my procrastinating tendencies kick in… given me ideas when I haven’t known where to start… and  given me courage when the change seems a little overwhelming.

And so we arrive at the idea behind this blog. I want to share these stories. I want to share your story. So that together we can be inspired, encouraged, kept focused, be given ideas and be filled with courage to make the change. To be champions of justice – whether that is social, economic or environmental justice. So please, do be in touch and share your story with me – with us!

[update: I first wrote this post on the 20 June… I ended up going into labour later that day with our little girl finally making her appearance 2 days later. And so… 6 weeks later I’m finally posting it & launching the blog]

Image: By derivative work: KSiOM(Talk)Blue_Sky.JPG: Mattwj2002 – Blue_Sky.JPG, GPL, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=5113130. With text added
8 Comments Add yours

  1. Steve Hobbs says:

    Great concept of “Just Stories”. I am immediately reminded of the greatly challenging recent read & autobiography of Professor Hugh & Joan Philpott. It is Hugh’s thoughtful & insightful reflection back on his 89 year journey – wrestling with issues of faith & justice – and living these out in a very personally-scaled way. It is a humbling & inspiring & recommended read, especially for the middle-class church of today. Hugh & Joan live in Botha’s Hill in KwaZulu Natal, South Africa.

    Like

  2. SamLioness says:

    you are beautiful and I LOVE that you’re doing this. Sharing a platform about these things is what brings steady change. It gives people a community to fight real issues with. Unity in what is fundamentally a humanity issue, is what will bring about great change, for the sake of many. xx

    Like

  3. jodie posen says:

    This is awesome and i’m so excited to follow all the stories and get ideas of how we can do this together! I’ve recently decided to do the whole cloth diapering-I feel a bit like a hippy but the online community has really made it less intimidating 🙂 baby steps for environmental sustainability.

    Like

    1. Literally baby steps! 🙂 we’re also cloth nappy-ing – high fives for that decision! And it’s so much easier than it sounds… thinking of doing a series on this later in the year so watch this space 🙂

      Like

  4. diné says:

    So glad you are doing this, I love the idea my friend 🙂 x

    Like

Leave a Reply

