A short checking in blog

So this lovely little blog has been going for six months now. Thank you to those of you who have been writing and sharing your inspiring stories, to those of you have shared these stories on social media and even more importantly to those of you who have decided to make lifestyle changes in response to something you’ve read. I’ve been so inspired and encouraged by those of you who have let me know about the changes you’ve made. 

On another note, I’m wanting to expand the team a little and I was wondering if YOU’D be interested in joining? As much as I love facilitating this blog, this was always envisioned to be a community effort and I work oh-so-much better when I have others to bounce ideas off and have fun with. So if you have a little inner yearning to throw your weight behind the justice cause, get your creative juices flowing and let’s be honest, change the world, do let me know. I’m specially looking for (1) people with social media expertise and (2) people interested in coordinating content. So pop through a short motivational letter if you’re interested. 

Over the next couple of weeks, we’re going to be looking at a justice issue that so often leaves me feeling angry but also a little helpless. 

Human trafficking and modern day slavery. 

I hear the statistics and I’m horrified. I watch movies like Taken and I’m sickened at the Hollywood-blockbuster-flippancy that they have taken to such a serious personal and global crisis. How can it be that in our day and age, modern day salvery is not just a big, but a growing industry?! How can it be that there are slaves, real people sold for money, in my city… in my neighbourhood… possibly even in my street. It’s one of those things that I often feel fairly helpless about. It’s so secretive and happening at such scale that what the heck can little old me do?

Over the next couple of weeks there are going to be some truly inspiring people telling their stories of what they’re doing in this sphere. Given the scale of the crisis, my hope is that these stories will help us to know better how to respond in the future. I encourage you to share these stories widely so that more people are given these handles too.

As ever, please let me know your thoughts and responses to the stories that are shared. 

Leave a Reply

